Parsley, Sage, Rosemary & Time

What does your spice drawer look like?  Does it drive you crazy?

Mine was driving me crazy…and yes, it’s a short drive.

I recently moved in with a friend while I recover my business & my writing (which both crashed & burned after my accident).  When I moved in, his housekeeper just crammed all my spices into his kitchen cabinet along with his spices.  It looked like the proverbial closet that you shouldn’t open because everything will come crashing down on you.  I bet it added 10-15 minutes hunting down what I needed EVERY time I cooked (because once I found what I wanted, I then had to put it all back again.)  In fact, I’ve avoided cooking as much as possible so I didn’t have to deal with the hassle.

Over the weekend, I bought shelving for the back of the pantry door.  Many thanks to Lowes for the cool door shelving (but you really need to add “spice” to the description.  I bet you’d get even more buyers).  And this morning, in just 1 1/2 hours, I finished alphabetizing my spices, combined duplicates, stored extras, & had them up on the new shelves.  

spicesYeah I know, this what people do when they are bored out of their minds or want to torture themselves.  For me, it’s a way of giving me a little sanity.  I have what would probably be considered a “mild case” of OCD.  I don’t do anything like touch doorknobs 4 times, but I do have an organization quirk that makes me anxious if I don’t settle the issue.  My spices are one of those issues. (I have a few others that I find entertaining, like my closet is organized by the childhood reminder ROYGBIV…anyone remember what that is?)

Now, I need to find out from my friend why on earth he thought he needed “Pink Salt.”

Your thoughts?

